At this point of the route, we come across the Church of Santa María la Mayor de Iria Flavia (former Collegiate Church) and its cemetery. Rosalía de Castro was buried here from 1885 to 1891. We suggest visiting this site now, since it is near the House Museum. However, if we are following the author’s life in chronological order, we can visit it after the sites in Padrón, just before going to the Pantheon of Illustrious Galicians in Santiago de Compostela.
The Church of Santa María la Mayor used to be an episcopal see and is considered the first Marian church in the world. It is one of the oldest churches in Galicia.
We can also see an extensive collection of sarcophagi and tombstones that have been preserved to varying degrees.
The Church’s cemetery has housed the remains of the Noble Prize-winner for Literature, Camilo José Cela, since 2002. If we cross the main road, we can see a long building that was built as residences for canons in the 18th century. It now houses the Camilo José Cela Galician Public Foundation (Fundación Pública Galega Camilo José Cela), where the author’s life and work, manuscripts and private collections are on display.
In Rosalía’s footsteps 360 application!
Discover each of the places making up the Rosalía de Castro Route by means of the 360 application